[noteworthy] “Like an Avalanche”

First of all, I’m from Texas. I’ve always lived in Texas. I am completely unfamiliar with avalanches. The closest I come to one is when I’m watching “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” and they cause a racket which brings down a whole bunch of snow.

But I know what it’s like to be caught up in grace like an avalanche.

“Like an Avalanche” is probably one of my favorite Hillsong United songs. I love all of their music, but this song is so moving to me.

This song was written by Joel Houston and Dylan Thomas of Hillsong and when I was researching the lyrics and where the song came from, I found out that this song came after they’d given up on writing for the evening. They were writing song after song and all of a sudden, they’d written “Like an Avalanche”.

It’s almost as though this song wanted to be written.

I love the pictures that this song paints. Trading Your righteousness for shame, despite all my pride and foolish ways. What a vision! No matter how many times we mess up, it doesn’t erase the everlasting love that abounds in His righteousness. Praise God for that!

I love the overwhelming sense of being small. That may seem like a weird statement, but think about it. I have to be reminded that He is big and I am small. And I find myself here on my knees again, caught up in grace like an avalanche. On my knees AGAIN. Not, on my knees this one time because I’m so fantastic. Not, on my knees a little bit this one time. On my knees once again, here I am and Your love overwhelms me. Wow.

This is one of those songs that I listen to almost daily. I allow this song to consume me. The lyrics are so lovely, you know? They’re just…lovely. The words are so incredibly powerful.

Beautiful God. From darkness into light. King for a slave. Infinite embrace. This love..burning in my heart. Savior and friend. Your Word is the lamp unto my path. Forever I’m humbled by Your love.

Take my life, take all that I am. With all that I am, I will love You.

Take my heart, take all that I have. Jesus, how I adore You.

Every once and a while we all have to be reminded how to confess our love. Why is that so hard to do sometimes? Jesus, how I adore You; how I love You.

Nothing compares to this love, love, love – burning in my heart. 

Leave a Reply

