a new kind of fame.

I think at some point, every little girl wants to be a singer. Boys, maybe you, too. Right? Even if they’re not talented in the least bit, we all want to shine. (This is the part where I could get into how every note you sing is music to God’s ears, even if Simon Cowell would scowl at you…see what I did there? It’s called rhyming.) Anyway, that’s true though, right? I was thinking about how I’ll be remembered and who would  remember me when I’m gone, etc., and my daily devotional just happened to be this verse:

“Don’t rejoice because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered in Heaven.” – Luke 10:20

Oooh, my name is registered in Heaven. Wait, what’s with that first part? Evil spirits obey me? Whoa..slow down.

This verse needs a little context, otherwise you could take it and run off with it to Egypt.

In the first part of Luke 10, Christ sends 72 disciples out to spread the “good news” of Jesus. He sent them to towns and villages that He was planning to visit. Verse 3 has the well known, “…behold, I am sending you out as lambs in the midst of wolves” bit. He tells them what to take with them and what to do.

Then in verse 17, the 72 disciples run back to Jesus declaring that “the demons are subject to [them] in [Jesus’] name”.

Then, Christ tells them, “Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you” (verse 19).

That’s some major bestowing of power, Jesus! He has given us the power over the enemy! Nothing can hurt us when we dwell in Christ. Incredible words of power.

So, this whole “names are registered in Heaven” thing. Let’s talk about that. When we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior, He writes our names in the Book of Life. The names in this book cannot be erased. I’m a visual learner; I see everything in my head. So when I think about my name being written in the Book of Life, I literally can see in my head a stereotypical Jesus-look-alike scribbling my name in a huge book with a quill and a smile. Isn’t that a lovely image? His hair is probably wavy and luscious, I mean…let’s be real. It’s Jesus.

Where do you love seeing your name? I’m one of those people that thrives off of positive reinforcement. If there’s some kind of contest or prize for people who do a good job, I’m going to win it. I’m a people-pleaser to the max. It’s a sickness.

Are you one of those people that wants to see their name in lights someday? A Barbra Streisand type, maybe? You know, her name is taken down off of billboards and glowing, neon signs. Her name will one day fade away and be forgotten, as crazy as that may sound. But to have your name in the Book of Life is eternal recognition.

You are loved, chosen, without fault, adopted, His forever.

Stop striving to have your name in the world records, history books, billboards, Yahoo, plaques, etc. You don’t have to make a great name for yourself in this world. Your name is written in Heaven, where it really matters. You are so beloved. He sent His Son for you, after all.

…Barbra Streisand forgotten…yeah, right…who am I kidding…I’m a funny girl...get it…

Leave a Reply

