[notable] “A Voice in the Wind” by Francine Rivers

This is not the first time I’ve read this book. A few friends recommended it my freshman year of college and it changed my life.

Not in like a “I’ve never read anything like this it’s so fantastic I can’t wait to read it again and tell everyone about it” run-on sentence kind of way. It literally changed my life. My life has been changed. Changed, my life has been.

I have it on my Kindle. Which means I can read it whenever I want. God personally invented Kindles. That’s the only logical explanation.

If you’ve ever read a book by Francine Rivers (such as “Redeeming Love”) then you know that it’s fantastic just because she dreamed it up.

The Amazon.com description about “A Voice in the Wind” says:

This first book in the classic best-selling Mark of the Lion series brings readers back to the first century and introduces them to a character they will never forget—Hadassah. Torn by her love for a handsome aristocrat, a young slave girl clings to her faith in the living God for deliverance from the forces of decadent Rome.

HA! That doesn’t even BEGIN to describe the glory of this book. There’s love, romance, flirting…oh, and stuff like violence, glory, honor, there’s a lack of chivalry, Christians in hiding, Christians being attacked, Jews being attacked…everything a moving novel needs!

And there’s a German. Oh boy, is there a German.

So yes, there are a lot of surface, superficial wonderful things about this book. The love story makes my heart melt. But there is also an incredible love story between the main character, Hadassah, and God. If you’ve read my latest post then you’ll know I recently lost faith in humanity but have gained it back. This book helped me to do that.

Of course there are characters you wish you could strangle (*cough*JULIA*cough*), but your heart breaks for them as well because they are lost and don’t understand their actions.

Francine Rivers is a bold lady. She touches on abortion, homosexuality, adultery, murder, classism, racism, sexism, all the other -isms, and then has the gaul to leave the reader wondering about the fate of their beloved heroine! Talk about a cliffhanger. Believe me, you’ll want to keep reading the series. You should just purchase or borrow the first two at the same time, just so you can immediately begin the second when you’ve finished the first.

Hadassah is so immersed in her devotion to the Lord that it shakes you to your soul. She endures so much heartbreak and hardship and yet stands firm in her belief and in her faith. She lives in a time when it is extremely dangers to be a Christian, let alone tell others about your faith. Who are we to live in a comfortable world and be silent? Hadassah is a true heroine. My first daughter will probably be named Hadassah and she will hate me until she’s old enough to read this book. Then she’ll understand.

I’m a sucker for a good romance novel. I forgot how much better a book can be when that romance is between a woman and her Savior. Sure, a knight in shining armor makes me have sweet dreams, but a book like this reminds me that I already have my Knight.

I wish I could be like Hadassah. That’s what a good book should do to you, right? It should make you say I need to change. I’m better than this.

So basically what I’m saying is that I’m rating this book 800/5. It’s that good.

The other two books in this series are called “An Echo in the Darkness” and “As Sure as the Dawn”. The entire triology is called “The Mark of the Lion Series”.

Now I’m reading: “The Lightkeeper’s Daughter” by Colleen Coble

Leave a Reply

