[noteworthy] kids in the way.

I’m kicking it old school for this music post. Kids in the Way used to be my favorite band. They have some really amazing songs. I’m all about lyrics, so even if their music isn’t so much “my style” anymore, I love their lyrics.

“Lay me down in fields of green/This heart has seen things I never should have seen/You’re breaking my legs and teaching me”

There’s a theory that back in the day, when a sheep wandered away from the flock, the shepherd would track it down and break one of its legs to teach it a lesson. Some stories say that the shepherd would make a splint to put on the sheep’s leg and that he would carry the sheep over his shoulders back to the flock.

Matthew 18:12-14 says, “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.”

Although the leg-breaking theory isn’t in the Bible, it makes you wonder. Is the Good Shepherd one of these? Does he “allow” things to happen so that we learn? Is “allow” even a good word to use? The God I know is one that teaches lessons. I think some of our lessons hurt Him, especially when we’re making the wrong choices. But I don’t believe that He forces bad things to rain down upon us to “show us.” When bad things happen, we often say that “God hates us” or that “He’s punishing us.” God knows what’s best for us. Sometimes what’s best for us doesn’t feel so “best” to us.

According to this theory, after the leg heals, the sheep will stay beside the shepherd for the rest of its life. It won’t ever go astray again.

After we go through a trial and God brings us out of it and into the light….do we stay beside Him forever? Do we stay loyal?

Job 5:18 says, “For He wounds, but He binds up; He shatters, but His hands heal.”

I love that this song makes me think. I love the thought of God finding me in my wandering and bringing me home. That’s why I love this song.

Kids in the Way albums are a staple in my road trip playlists.

-Caitlyn

Other favorites from this artist: “Phoenix With a Heartache”, “Scars that Save”, “Apparitions of Melody” and “Stars Fall On.”

Leave a Reply

