[noteworthy] christy nockels.

[Don’t be fooled. The video says it has the lyrics…but it doesn’t.]

My favorite song this week was “By Our Love” by Christy Nockels from her album “Life Light Up.”

I’m sure this won’t be the last you’ll see of Christy Nockels on my blog.

I actually own this album and recently decided to put it on shuffle and enjoy. Man, did I enjoy! Christy Nockels has one of the most amazing voices I’ve ever heard. Her voice is beautifully clear and passionate. I especially love her live tracks on the last few “Passion” albums.

The lyrics and melody for this song are both really simple, yet really powerful. I love simple songs; sometimes they have the most effect.

“The time is now/Come church, arise/Love with His hands, see with His eyes/Bind it around you/Let it never leave you/And they will know us by our love.”

I think one of the main reasons this song impacted me is because of how it relates to my latest post. The church is meant to LOVE God’s people! The church has a reputation of  blatant hypocrisy, strict rules and uptight morals. People should look at the church and see the love of God being put on display! The church is more than a building; the church is a body of believers.

What are we teaching our children? Are we teaching them to judge and look down upon non-Christians and even our brothers and sisters?

I hope they’ll be known for their love. The time is now. Come, church – arise.

-Caitlyn

Other favorites from this album: “A Mighty Fortress”, “Song of the Beautiful” and “Hosanna.”

1 John 4:7 “Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God…”

John 13:34 “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.”

*I needed something to do every week. I have a few people that I send my favorite songs to or that ask me for some good music suggestions, so I thought this would be a good place to start! Let me know if you like the idea of posting a song every week.

Leave a Reply

