[notable] “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers

I recently read the book “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers who is, by far, my favorite author of all time. Every time I read one of her books, I have a really hard time putting it down. This book was recommended to me by multiple people and here I am, recommending it to you. Every girl needs to read this book, for sure. Especially if you’re hurting, struggling and fighting a past with an ugly, rearing head. Guys should read it, too. There’s a lot of insight into the workings of women and of God in this book.

I can’t even begin describing how great this book is. I don’t know where to start. Here’s a little summary:

This book draws inspiration from the book of Hosea in the Bible. The storyline of the book mirrors, in a way, the storyline in God’s Word. The story is about Angel, a prostitute during California’s gold rush era, who is rescued from bondage by a man named Michael Hosea. The plot follows their trials and tribulations during their marriage and their walks with God, both together and apart.

This book convicted me. Judgement, jealousy, lust, being unforgiving, this books has it all. It’s also filled with redemption, love, hope, light, beauty, and all things Heavenly. I would go into detail, but that would ruin the story.

Read it. I bought it on my Kindle, otherwise I’d lend it to you. Did I mention how great it is? This book kept reminding me of the song “A Mighty Fortress” sung by Christy Nockels. It says, “Our God is jealous for His own, none could comprehend His love and His mercy” and “A mighty fortress is Our God, a sacred refuge is Your Name. Your kingdom is unshakeable. With You, forever, we will reign.”

In the book, Angel starts to idolize and worship her husband, rather than give glory to God. That’s a huge problem that our culture refuses to acknowledge.  The first commandment in Exodus says we shouldn’t have any other god before Him. So if our faith is starting out idolizing the one who brought us into the light, we’re off to a bad start. God is jealous for you! When you choose things of this world over Him, He feels it! He knows that the best thing for us…is Him! And He wants that for us..that unrelenting love.

Romans 7:19 says “For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do.” Is that you? Really unpack that verse.

Let’s be real: we know what good things are. We know the differences between good and evil, right and wrong. We want good and we don’t want evil. So why do we continue allowing evil in, even though we’re completely aware of the good things we could be doing. Follow me?

Are you “dying of thirst by the side of the fountain?” (Charles d’Orleans)

-Caitlyn

Listening to: Christy Nockels’ “Life Light Up” album

I also love these Rivers novels: “The Mark of the Lion” series, “A Lineage of Grace” and “Sons of Encouragement.”

Leave a Reply

