[noteworthy] i know the rain is coming.

After spending the weekend at the corner of No and Where, I was unbelievably aware of the heat. Yes, I know it has been hot all summer. For some reason, while spending the weekend at a camp ground with my fellow campus tour guides, telecounselors and admissions assistants, the heat was ridiculous. I started thinking about the drought those of us in the South have suffered this summer. I thought about how our land is dry and aching for rain, how crops are dying and animals are coming into towns in search of water. It made me think of the drought in our souls. Then, I heard these lyrics from Jesus Culture, “I believe You will come like the rain”.

We are both figuratively and literally in need of rain. Our souls are dry and weary, send Your healing rain, Father! Fill us with Your love and mercy so we may pour out on Your people! I’ve felt empty and dry before and when His love abounds, it’s like smelling rain on the wind.

“I believe You will come like the rain!” After months of staring at the clouds, the first drop of rain made me want to run outside and bask in the glory of the Lord. He is faithful! “Shower, O heavens, from above,
and let the clouds rain down righteousness;
let the earth open, that salvation and righteousness may bear fruit;
let the earth cause them both to sprout;
I the LORD have created it.” [Isaiah 45:8 ESV]

I love this verse in any variation. God commands the rain to fall and revive our thirsty land and hearts! That revival brings salvation and righteousness that spreads like wildfire…except…a good kind of wildfire! From our hearts, passion arises! As Christians, the Holy Spirit resides in us and when we are revived and renewed, He moves and shakes! God is a prime example of a mover and shaker, for sure.

“My soul longs for You/Nothing else will do”. Is there any replacement for a good rain storm on our lands? No. We can use sprinklers all day, but that’s not going to have the breadth to cover every patch of grass, all the time. What’s something in your life that you use to temporarily fill that void? The void that only the Father can fill. Beg Him to come like the rain and fill you up!

“So let it rain!” This was the first week of the semester for me and a new ministry has come to campus called InterVarsity. I’ve never been more excited to be apart of something like this group in my entire life. God’s going to bring the rain. He will come in love and mercy. He is faithful to every promise. My cry out to God is just that, “Let it rain!” I believe He will come like the rain. He is mighty to save.

-Caitlyn

Listening to:

Leave a Reply

